Français | English

Art in motion

GIROVAGO is a creative company under the artistic and general direction of Carmen Ruiz and Juan Sebastian Mejia.
GIROVAGO's mission is to support the creation, production and dissemination of art in motion, the art that transforms individual, social and cultural imaginaries. GIROVAGO also fosters exchanges between artists from diverse disciplines and backgrounds.

LEARN MORE

SUPPORT OUR MISSION

Our

Projects

Do you want to support our creative project?
We invite you to make a donation here.
Discover our store with the colors of our projects here.

HISTORY

GIROVAGO is well known for the creation and direction of Gypsy Kumbia Orchestra (GKO) as well as a multitude of other projects in which Carmen and Juan Sebastian have collaborated as co-creators and producers such as the film FAIT VIVIR (Biarritz, 2019), the song and video EL GRITO Colombia Montréal (2020), The Take Out Lab, le Studio D 325 and The Family Dance Party.
In 2022, thanks to an invitation from TOHU in Montreal, GIROVAGO presented its new creation BARKA, a show that brings together 11 artists on stage and mixes music, dance and circus in a festive chaos that calls for hope.

THE CREATORS
Carmen Ruiz is a choreographer, performer and dance teacher. She has a degree in Literature and Dance from Concordia University in Montreal, and also works as an independent producer in the field of music and performing arts.
Of Colombian origin, she hopes that her artistic creation will become a spark that promotes the human and social movement towards the re-invention of individual and collective history. Her physical vocabulary and her contemporary research are deeply inspired by her Colombian roots and her story of migration, which nourishes her creative signature and her desire to express herself in the face of the complex issues of our current reality.
Juan Sebastian Mejia is a creator of the unexpected. His mind is constantly seeing a circus environment in which everyone, including the audience, is gripped by a compelling desire to move together and dance. His hope is that this desire will eventually translate into a collective movement for social change.
Trained in Afro-Colombian percussion with masters Kelly Rojas and Luis Carlos Ochoa (Colombia, 2005, 2006) and in Afro-Cuban percussion with master Francisco Sánchez "Lele" and the Cutumba Folkloric Company (Cuba, 2009, 2010), he also has extensive experience as a facilitator of improvisation workshops, games and collective creation.

Our Projects

Contact-Us

productionsgirovago@gmail.com
514-668-1688

Français | English

L’art en mouvement

GIROVAGO est une compagnie de création sous la direction artistique et générale de Carmen Ruiz et Juan Sebastian Mejia.
GIROVAGO a pour mission soutenir la création, production et diffusion de l'art en mouvement, l’art qui transforme des imaginaires individuels, sociaux et culturels ainsi que générer des espaces d’échange pour des artistes issus de diverses disciplines et origines.

En savoir plus

SOUTENIR LA MISSION

Nos

Projets

Vous désirez soutenir notre projet créatif?
Nous vous invitons à faire un don ici.
Découvrez aussi notre boutique aux couleurs de nos projets ici.

HISTORIQUE

GIROVAGO est reconnu pour la création et direction de Gypsy Kumbia Orchestra (GKO) ainsi que une multitude d'autres projets dans lesquels Carmen et Juan Sebastian ont collaboré en tant que co-créateurs et producteurs comme le film FAIT VIVIR (Biarritz, 2019), la chanson et vidéo EL GRITO Colombia Montréal (2020), La Take Out Lab, le Studio D 325 et le Bal Dansant en Famille.
En 2022, grâce à une invitation de la TOHU à Montréal, GIROVAGO a présenté sa nouvelle création BARKA, spectacle qui réunit 11 artistes sur scène et qui mélange la musique, la danse et le cirque dans un chaos festif qui fait appel à l’espoir.

LES CRÉATEURS
Carmen Ruiz est une chorégraphe, interprète et enseignante en danse. Graduée en Littérature et en Danse à l’Université de Concordia à Montréal, Carmen s’exerce aussi comme productrice indépendante dans le milieu de la musique et des arts vivants.
D’origine colombienne, elle souhaite que sa création artistique devienne des étincelles qui favorisent le mouvement humain et social vers la ré- invention des histoires individuelles et collectives. Son vocabulaire physique et sa recherche contemporaine s’inspirent profondément de ses racines colombiennes et de son histoire de migration, laquelle nourrit sa signature créative et son désir d’expression face aux enjeux complexes de notre réalité actuelle.
Juan Sebastian Mejia est un créateur de l'inattendu. Son esprit est constamment en train de voir un environnement de cirque, dans lequel tout le monde, y compris le public, est pris d'un désir impérieux de bouger ensemble et de danser. Son espoir est que ce désir se traduise finalement dans un mouvement collectif en faveur du changement social.
Formé en percussions afro- colombiennes avec les maîtres Kelly Rojas et Luis Carlos Ochoa (Colombie, 2005, 2006) et en percussions afro- cubaines avec le maître Francisco Sánchez “Lele” et la Compagnie Folklorique Cutumba (Cuba,2009, 2010), il a aussi une grande expérience comme facilitateur des ateliers d’improvisation, de jeux et de création collective.

Nos Projets

Contactez-nous

productionsgirovago@gmail.com
514-668-1688